top of page

Serial Dating Serial Killers

People are now zooming for work, church zoom services are now the norm and zooming with friends and family is how we stay connected. So I thought I would explore zoom dating. Why not? If all else failed I could log off...accidentally. Oops.

I am at the point in my life where I am testing my capabilities, potential and ranking, you know like a car. Who is going to want a test drive ? After being in a monogamous relationship for almost seventeen years everything felt awkward and uncertain at first. The language has changed and it feels like the last time I was dating was in Victorian times. I felt like a fish out of water.

Yes, I am now testing the waters of my dating worth. Do I still have it? Can I still reel the fish in, fresh and silver skinned or do I have to just go the market and buy them previously frozen ?


At the recommendation of a friend I decided to join a dating app. Since I am

quarantined anyway, it seems like a perfect idea with a lot less pressure than being set up on a blind date. After a little research I choose the Bumble dating app. bumble.com.

I decide it is the best option because it addresses all my privacy and safety concerns but most of all I love that it allows women to make the first move. You swipe, if you like what you see you swipe right and if not they go to the left, to the left a la Beyoncé. But if there is a match, a man cannot text a woman not even one word until the woman addresses them. Perfect.

While swiping casually on the living room couch, Shyloh decides that she wants to participate in helping mom to find a new "friend." At the first swipe she yells "serial killer!"

I laugh because she is not wrong. Let's just say the five o'clock shadow doesn't work on everyone. Next swipe her comment is, "he looks like he has people chained in his basement." I laugh again and continue swiping as she concludes that most of my swipes are of serial killers. But honestly, I think most men just take horrible selfies.

She finally approves of 2 potentials and I read their bios. I am surprised at what I am reading. This handsome, great smile guy’s bio states:

L

ooking for a relationship. Aries. Drink Socially. Dogs. Sarcastic sense of humor. Physically active. Ok, so far I’m nodding my head at the screen until I read children...haven’t decided if I want any.

46 years old and you haven’t decided if you want children? I know that men literally have the ability to have children until the day dust is shoveled on their coffin but if at 46 years of age you don’t know if you want children do you have the ability to choose a muffin flavor when we meet for coffee? I don't know, I may need to swipe right on one of the serial killers who has kids. By the end of the night I have swiped right on two other less serial killer looking men and made a match leading to interesting chats and plans for zoom dates.

This could be fun!


Let’s see if I can reel them in or if all I will encounter area some fishy characters.

All this talk of fish makes me want some.

So I’m making one of my favorite fish recipes.

Please follow this link to try out this easy but satisfying Sole en Papillote. Use any white fish you like!

Sole en Papillote.



0 views
bottom of page