top of page

My Skin Has Made It Clear To Me.

I am on board with masking in order to help stop the spread of Covid-19. I have adhered to all the guidelines mandated by our health department and I hope you are all doing the same. But I have noticed that my skin has changed and has become more of a challenge to keep moisturized. I use cloth masks so sometimes I wear the same mask a couple of times before washing it which I have discovered is a no, no ! It is frustrating but baby smooth skin is not worth dying over because I want luscious baby smooth skin.


I wash my face twice a day with clean hands and exfoliate once a week or sometimes once a month. Sometimes months and months may pass to be honest. I use charcoal masks every now and then to draw out toxins and impurities from my skin. And I ALWAYS moisturize, but here's the deal it doesn't have to be with anything expensive or a designer brand. Sometimes I will buy an Estee Lauder or Oil of Olay hydrating cream but other times I will slather an organic food grade coconut oil that I can cook with as well. While we are talking about cooking, olive oil has been great for my skin. After all it is used in some face creams. When I use olive oil, I just blot off excess oil so that I don't look like I just jumped out of the fryer with the chicken.

While we are talking about food, I have found that increasing foods to my diet undeniably gives me a healthy smooth glow.


I have discovered that what I put in my body is the most influential to how my skin behaves.

Foods rich in Omega-3 fatty acids like salmon, mackerel, sardines, (always out of the can for me). I definitely find avocadoes, chia seeds, cucumbers and seaweed. The list goes on and on...

I want to come back on another post and talk about other health benefits of Omega 3s in fighting depression, raising dopamine levels. Yes! My dopamine levels were raised by all kinds of tuna.

But the king of skin care for me is collagen. Simply put collagen is a protein found in the body's connective tissues ( bones, skin, tendon). Its role is to provide our skin its structure and helping blood to clot. Ok, I'm not going to on and on. You get it, right ?






So the best source of collagen is the most affordable and that's from home made bone broth soup. I slow simmer bones for hours and sip on the broth for a fraction of the price I would buy collagen in pill or powder form. When I'm busy or too impatient to simmer anything down but my 5 year old, I sip on Organika brand bone broth powder. www.organika.com. It is made consiously from grass fed cows with no artificial ingredients.

Since most of us have down time why not use some of that time to make your own simple bone broth soup that will not just mask your skin issue but a pandemic of dryness on your face?

Bone Broth Soup Recipe


0 views
bottom of page