top of page

Friends with Health Benefits

Two of my closest friends are pursuing a vegan lifestyle but I won’t mention them by name because I don’t want them to be embarrassed if they should ever be busted while chowing down on some ribs! But seriously, I am coming across more and more people who are turning to veganism for one reason or another. I have found out that it is a real health benefit to people battling anything from weight loss to diabetes to heart disease. There are a myriad of ways in which letting go of eating animal products can benefit you. If it works for you then I support it whole heartedly while chowing down on my steak salad. In this case because health is a huge factor, the urgency to succeed is important. And as someone who is always trying to challenge themselves to prepare delicious meals, I want to support my friends in any way I can, because once this pandemic is over I want to spend as much time with them enjoying what they like to eat.



I must admit that once I was aware of how much I depend on animal products to prepare meals I had to do a bit of research and figure out what replacements I could utilise. By the time I eliminated butter, cream, Greek yoghurt and eggs and on and on, I was staring at... well...vegetables and fruit.

Flavour, nutrition and simplicity is the goal for me as I navigate my new path...well their new path.

I want them and anyone else to recreate these dishes without being left with one strand of hair on their head from sheer frustration. I want it to be nutritious without being boring and to be so flavourful that meat will be just an old beau, left and forgotten.




Do vegan meals have to mimic meat creations? I realize very quickly that I do not want to make dishes that mimic meat versions. So, no vegan meatloaf even if the dish is inspired by meatloaf. Why? My goal is not to make vegan mac and cheese or vegan hamburgers because I believe if you have been a meat eater once you put that word in your subconscious; your mind veers to the meat version and compares.

My belief is that eating is psychological on many levels and one way is in how you mind processes how you view the food in front of you before you eat it. You imagine the flavours and textures that you will experience. If I am handed a plate of a vegan lasagna, when I hear the words lasagna, my tastebuds will expect flavours reminiscent of lasagna. That could be disappointing and potentially turn me off what could otherwise be a perfectly delicious vegan plate. No, my friends, meat can never be vegetables and vice versa. So, lets let go of meat completely and think fresh, well seasoned and exciting food. That is it. That is all.

Let’s not pressure the vegan lasagna to taste like meat lasagna by labeling it as such. I mean just because my girls call me a rock star in the kitchen doesn’t mean I’m going to perform as one ... or am I? Follow this link to try out my Creamy Hominy (Samp) with Herb Wine Mushrooms.



0 views
bottom of page